I want trains

I can’t stop with the Bridgegate mess. Though I think someone should make a pun about EZPass for it. “Bridgegate” is stupid.

 I don’t ever want to have to learn to drive a car, and I want everyplace to have public transportation so I can get there.  Driving a car is dangerous and expensive, and parking a car is boring and expensive. Cars are just a thing that makes places build giant supermarkets with giant parking lots surrounded by grassy, weedy, garbage strewn plots. The whole complex is a cause of ennui. This is the fault of cars, which I dislike. 

A few years ago, NY and NJ got federal funding to build a new Hudson train tunnel  – there’d be greater capacity in the infrastructure that provides the few alternatives  to the GW bridge and the Outerbridge and the Lincoln and the Holland. But it got quashed because governor Christie, after initially supporting it, said it would cost New Jersey too much money.  Instead he built roads and things in New Jersey. Why do I care about roads in New Jersey that I can’t even get to? It was a worthwhile project, and it’s sunk because of roads. For cars! Cars have enough roads.

And now his pals have been found out planning, executing, and covering up a three day traffic jam so the folks who *have* to drive their cars into the city *can’t*.

That’s entertainment! It’s always best when it’s happening next door.

Leave a comment